RC AIRCRAFT BUILDS Electric Powered Ian’s Mini Convergence refit (an exercise in futility)

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

After many months of trying numerous solutions (all with little or no luck), Ian has given up, on his Horizon Hobby Mini Convergence, as a bad joke & donated it to me for parts or whatever.

Whilst I’m no expert when it comes to Spektrum gear, after a lot of testing with different receivers & protocols I believe that the flight control board is faulty, in that it will accept no inputs from any SBus connected receiver.

After originally thinking of breaking the plane down for parts or offering it to Hoppy for spares for his HH lookalike that flies fine, I opted to try one last time to get it to fly.

Because of the “one board” design and very limited space I’ve used the original flight controller board as the BEC & power distribution board and wired all the controls direct to an 8 channel RadioMaster R168 receiver. Had to strip the cover from the Rx to make it fit but it is now all together & the COG is correct.

The new setup is;

Ch 1 – Front Motor Left

Ch 2 – Front Motor Right

Ch 3 – Rear Motor (switchable for VTOL)

Ch 4 – Aileron Left

Ch 5 – Aileron Right

Ch 6 – Front Left Motor Tilt

Ch 7 – Front Right Motor Tilt

Ch 8 – Feed in for power to Rx

After a fair bit of “creative” programming in OpenTx on the Taranis I think it is now ready to test.

Switch 1 (3 pos) controls motor angle, up, 45deg & 90deg

Switch 2 (2 pos) disables all motors (got to have some safety protocols)

Pot 1 & 2 adjust angle of front motors but only in the upright position to allow for stable (hopefully) hover for takeoff & landing.

Throttle works as per normal

Ailerons work as per normal

Elevator works as per normal